Shameless Self-Promotion

21 Feb

I don’t feel too good about doing this, but desperate times call for disparate messages and this is the most dispassionate of all!!

Basically, my band ‘Gout Pony’, are in the running for winning the ‘Strangest Band in the World’ (*ahem*oftheweek*ahem*) competition, but seem to be tripping at the last hurdle! ‘Astro Al’ is a pretty good band name and they have gas masks, but I do not think they have a pun as good as our album title ‘Gout Pony’s Family Gouting’ (attributable to Jay, co-owner of this site).

The album is here:
http://goutpony.bandcamp.com/album/a-family-gouting

And you can vote for us here:
http://weirdestbandintheworld.com/2014/02/16/february-weird-band-poll-vote-for-astro-al-ebola-ape-gout-pony-iris-von-gul-or-potworow/

If you do so, you have my sincerest thanks. I do not know if Nic would like our music, but I would like to think so.

– Adam

7 Responses to “Shameless Self-Promotion”

  1. SiouxsieSuitcase February 22, 2014 at 8:57 pm #

    That’s your band? :O Damn, I wish I’d known earlier. Your music is brilliant, by the way. 🙂

  2. SiouxsieSuitcase February 22, 2014 at 11:37 pm #

    Voted for you! Also, if you don’t win, I would love to do a post on your band.

    • cagewisdom February 23, 2014 at 8:20 pm #

      That’s really kind of you!

      I have been pretty shameless about self-promotion… although I am worried that some people may have voted for us more than once :(( I really only want to win legitimately and the other bands look interesting too, despite my also wanting to win! That said, there are 4 of us, each with our own Facebook friends, putting us at something of an advantage!!

      UNRELATED: Wish the Residents were touring Britain, not just Europe!

      • SiouxsieSuitcase February 23, 2014 at 11:04 pm #

        I’ll try and share your music with some people I know who might like it. 🙂 There’s one person who I think would definitely like your stuff. Have you ever heard of Electric Phantom? The woman who runs it loves bands like yours. 😀

        Gout Pony reminds me of a cross between The Residents and The Tiger Lillies, with a Monty Python influence. I especially love the song Somnambulist, and Painting the Lighthouse has to be one of the best titles ever.

        Me too. 😛 It’s a dream of mine to get to see them perform, though that seems fairly unlikely. xD

      • cagewisdom February 26, 2014 at 2:18 pm #

        I haven’t but I’ll take a look! Thank you!

        And thanks for listening to the album! The Residents are quite probably the largest influence on any lyrics I write. (To be honest, any creative writing I do is probably Chris Morris + The Residents + Donald Barthelme) and I wish I could sing like Martyn Jacques. The Tiger Lillies are one of the best bands I’ve ever seen live.

        Glad you like Somnambulist. It’s Joe’s (plays bass, second guitar and add anything fancy to the songs – also wrote the music for and sings ‘Entitlement Issues’) favourite song from the album!

  3. SiouxsieSuitcase March 3, 2014 at 10:52 am #

    You’ve seen the Tiger Lillies live? :O
    The Residents, Lain and Richard Brautigan are probably my three biggest inspirations.

    • cagewisdom March 3, 2014 at 5:40 pm #

      I should read more Brautigan. I loved ‘Watermelon Sugar’ and that peculiar gothic-western. They were meditative and cute!

      I’ve be lucky enough to see the Tiger Lillies live twice! Once in Edinburgh and once in London. They’re particularly good live and after the show Jacques was gloriously shameless about hawkin’ his merchandise! He also had to wear prescription loafers because of foot pain, bless ‘im.

Leave a Reply

